Board of Directors

WVEMS Board of Directors Roster (term expirations)

City of Roanoke - Jim Cady, Jr. (12-31-21)
City of Salem - Marlon M. (Matt) Rickman (12-31-22)
City of Radford - Rodney Haywood (12-31-22)
City of Covington - Dwaine Paxton (12-31-22)
City of Martinsville - Kristopher Shrader (12-31-21)
City of Danville - Michael Jefferson (12-31-20)
Botetourt County - Jason Ferguson (12-31-22)
Montgomery County - Joe Coyle (12-31-20)
Pulaski County - L. Joseph Trigg (12-31-22)
Floyd County - Ford S. Wirt (12-31-22)
Alleghany County - Ryan Muterspaugh (12-31-21)
Roanoke County - Stephen G. Simon (12-31-21)
Craig County - James Cady, Sr. (12-31-21)
Giles County - Larry Lafon (12-31-21)
Franklin County - William (Billy) Ferguson (12-31-21)
Henry County - Matthew Tatum (12-31-20)
Patrick County - Steve Allen (12-31-20)
Pittsylvania County - Chris Slemp (12-31-22)
*Emergency Physician at-large - Eric Stanley, DO (12-31-21)
Emergency Nurses Association - Gary Meadows, RN, BS (12-31-21)
Virginia Association of Volunteer Rescue Squads, Inc. - Carey Harveycutter (12-31-20)
Near Southwest Preparedness Alliance - Robert Hawkins (concurrent with position)
*At-large, Fourth Planning District - Valerie Tweedie (12-31-21)
*At-large, Fifth Planning District - Richard Flora (12-31-20)
*At-large, Twelfth Planning District - Dale Wagoner (12-31-20)
Regional Medical Director - Charles J. Lane, M.D. (concurrent with position)
Executive Director - Robert Logan (non-voting) (concurrent with position)

*Elected Director
All others are appointed by the bodies they represent.

Executive Committee

President - Mike Jefferson
Vice President - Jason Ferguson
Secretary - Matt Rickman
Treasurer - Joe Coyle
Executive Director - Robert Logan
At-large, Fourth Planning District - Valerie Tweedie
At-large, Fifth Planning District - Carey Harveycutter
At-large, Twelfth Planning District - Kris Shrader

The Board normally meets on the Second Thursday of the third month of each calendar quarter. Meetings are open to the public, and guests are welcome.

Meetings are generally held at the Salem Civic Center, Parlor C. Meetings begin promptly at 2:00 PM. Meeting locations subject to change. Please call 800.972.4367 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. to confirm.


  Schedule of Upcoming Meetings

December 10, 2020

March 11, 2021

 June 10, 2021
(Subject to Change due to Awards Event)

September 9, 2021

December 9. 2021


This organization is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit, tax exempt organization.  It is an integral part of Virginia's comprehensive EMS system. It serves to assess, identify, coordinate, plan and implement efficient and effective regional EMS delivery systems in partnership with Virginia's Office of Emergency Medical Services and EMS Advisory Board.

Back To Top